Brendon Hartley will make his single-seater racing return in Formula E after signing a deal to compete with the Jay Penske-owned Dragon Racing team for the 2019/20 season.

After losing his Formula 1 seat at the end of 2018, Hartley signed a deal to replace Fernando Alonso in the Toyota LMP1 squad for 2020 and will now combine that role with a full season of racing in Formula E as well as supporting the Ferrari F1 team on simulator duties.

The Kiwi, who won both his WEC titles and the 2017 Le Mans race with Porsche, was previously linked to the German manufacturer’s newly formed Formula E team before former Techeetah driver Andre Lotterer was confirmed to partner Neel Jani.

Hartley said, “I’m happy to be taking on a new challenge in Formula E together with Dragon Racing. Formula E is totally different from any other race series I’ve been in, but I am hoping my experience in many categories with energy management will pay dividends and give me a head start as a rookie.”

“I’ve always been a fan of street tracks and FE has some of the wildest I’ve seen. That together with some of the best drivers and manufacturers in the world makes it an exciting place to be.

“I’ve already started working with most of the Dragon team, and I have a strong feeling that we can share some good success together in the coming season.”

Team boss Jay Penske commented, “I am very pleased to have Brendon pilot one of our two entries in season six of the FIA Formula E Championship. Brendon is a real racer. He has a unique combination of experience, intellect, and racecraft that will allow him to maximize the potential of the new Penske EV-4 powertrain.

“Most importantly, he shares our hunger, and our determination to take the fight to the incredible field of major manufacturers this season.”

With Jose Maria Lopez not expected to return, and Maxi Günther now favourite to replace Antonio Felix da Costa at BMW, the identity of Dragon’s second driver is yet to be confirmed although several names have been linked in recent weeks including F2 racer Jordan King.