has taken his second career pole in for Racing to head the field in today’s Paris ePrix, resisting strong pressure from the Nissan e.Dams pair of Oliver Rowland and Sebastien Buemi in the superpole shootout.

“The last few races were difficult, so really happy to bounce back here”, said the German after securing pole and being embraced by Mahindra Team Principal, Dilbagh Gill.

“Now we have to finish the job! Good to be back in the front.”

Group One: Jerome D’Ambrosio, Andre Lotterer, Lucas Di Grassi, Mitch Evans

Mitch Evans was first across the line, but lost time to the chasing pack, with Jerome D’Ambrosio setting the marker tome of 1:00.699 to take provisional pole ahead of Lotterer and Di Grassi. Evans would finish fifth behind the BMW of Antonio Felix Da Costa.

Group Two: Edoardo Mortara, Jean-Eric Vergne, Daniel Abt, Sam Bird Robin Frijns

Excellent first sectors from Frijns and Abt set themselves up to finish provisional first and third respectively. Mortara would put in a solid lap to take provisional sixth whilst Vergne and Bird would have to settle for seventh and eighth respectively.

Group Three: Alexander Sims, Felipe Massa, Oliver Rowland, Sebastien Buemi, Stoffel Vandoorne, Pascal Wehrlein

A sharp lap would put him on the top of the timesheets, followed by Wehrlein and Buemi in second and third. Massa put in a strong showing to finish fourth, while sloppy first few sectors for Sims saw the Brit behind the eight-ball and would put him eleventh. A mystifyingly slow lap from Vandoorne saw the Belgium driver in sixteenth.

Group 4: Alex Lynn, Max Gunther, Gary Paffett, Oliver Turvey, Jose Maria Lopez, Tom Dillmann

A great lap from Gunther just saw the Dragon driver just miss out on superpole in seventh, whilst teammate Lopez put in a devastatingly quick first sector only to throw it all away with an error in the second to finish last.  Dillmann would take eleventh ahead of Turvey in thirteenth, Lynn in seventeenth and Paffett in nineteenth.

Superpole: Felipe Massa, Jerome d’Ambrosio, Robin Frijns, Sebastien Buemi, Pascal Wehrlein, Oliver Rowland

An admittedly “dirty” lap from Massa saw the Venturi driver set a 1:01.217. The reason; debris was being strewn onto the track from high winds. A sloppy opening sector for d’Ambrosio put the Mahindra driver behind Massa by the region of nine-hundredths of a second.

Frijns would spend most of the opening lap swerving debris, but would somehow eclipse Massa’s lap by four-tenths to take provisional pole with three men left to run.

A neater lap from Buemi saw the Swiss driver steal a tenth on the leading pack only to lose two-tenths in the middle sector. He would gather it up however to go quickest by two-hundredths of a second. It was short-lived however as Wehrlein usurped Buemi by four-tenths.

All eyes were now on Rowland to pull out all the stops for Nissan. Carrying excellent speed, Rowland was up by e tenth in the first sector, but would ultimately fail to take top spot by two-tenths of a second behind Wehrlein.

Images: Michelin, Venturi Team and Audi