’s made it eight different winners from eight races this season after securing his first ever Formula E victory in a dramatic, rain-affected .

The race began in dry conditions but heavy rain halfway through caused chaos, with three full course yellow periods triggered plus a safety car to clear up several on-track incidents and spins as the drivers struggled for grip in the tricky conditions.

Polesitter Oliver Rowland blew his opportunity to secure his first race win when he hit the wall on lap two, handing the chance to team-mate Sebastien Buemi who himself was then forced to pit from the lead with a mechanical issue around 15 minutes into the race.

Frijns had passed Buemi for the lead moments before the Swiss driver slowed with car trouble, while Lotterer passed Venturi’s Felipe Massa and the Dragon Racing car of Maxi Guenther to move up to second.

Despite suffering from front wing damage for the much of the race, a consequence of having made contact earlier on with Buemi, Frijns kept his cool to keep Lotterer at bay despite the race descending into chaos once the rain began to fall.

With the safety car called out to clear an incident late in the race, Frijns completed the final lap unchallenged to secure his first ever Formula E victory, taking a one point championship lead ahead of Lotterer as a result who scores back-to-back podiums for the first time in his Formula E career.

Daniel Abt completed the podium for Audi, climbing from seventh on the grid to finish just ahead of team-mate Lucas di Grassi who started the race one place behind in eighth.

Maxi Guenther made up for Dragon’s disappointing Rome race with the best result of his Formula E career to date. The German kept out of trouble to convert his excellent fifth place grid spot to fifth place in the race, crucially moving his team ahead of NIO in the championship as a result.

Last year’s Paris E-Prix winner Jean-Eric Vergne was unable to produce a repeat performance but given the difficult conditions, his sixth-place finish was a good recovery from his disappointing 12th place grid start.

BMW Andretti’s Antonio Felix da Costa picked up some valuable championship points with seventh place after starting the race from 14th. The Portuguese moves ahead of former championship leader Jerome d’Ambrosio, but drops to third overall as a result of Frijns and Lotterer’s points haul.

HWA’S Gary Paffett benefitted significantly from the chaos around him to grab eighth place, a superb result given his 17th place starting spot. The Brit doubles his points tally for the season with only his second-ever points finish in Formula E.

Felipe Massa finished in ninth place for Venturi but had earlier looked on course for a podium before aquaplaning and spinning out of third place, and later being hit by NIO’s Oliver Turvey who slid into him on the damp track.

The final point for tenth place went to Mahindra’s Pascal Wehrlein, who recovered from the back of the grid after losing his pole position for a technical infringement.

Despite starting from first and second, Nissan will leave Paris empty handed owing to Rowland’s lap two hit with the wall while Buemi suffered a slow puncture due to contact from behind from race winner Frijns.

Mahindra’s Jerome d’Ambrosio lost the championship lead as a result of his non finish. The Belgian locked up went into the barrier at the end of turn three with a few minutes remaining.

Jaguar’s Alex Lynn and Edoardo Mortara were both late retirements, the latter causing a collision with an ambitious overtake in the closing stages of the race. The safety car was triggered as a result to remove the pair’s stricken cars.

Stoffel Vandoorne (damage from contact), Alexander Sims (collision with Rowland) and Tom Dillmann (damage through a hit with the wall) were the other retirements.

Image Credit: Michelin