took a 1-2 lockout for tomorrow’s 1000 Miles of Sebring, but not before coming under immense pressure from SMP Racing in the dying stages of qualifying.



The WEC circuit returned to Sebring for the first time since 2000, but for many drivers it would be their first time on the circuit.


Mathias Beche and Thomas Laurent wasted no time by jumping to the top of the LMP1 order for Rebellion Racing within the first few minutes of LMP qualifying. They were immediately followed by both SMP entries until Fernando took top spot and smash the LMP1 lap record set 12 years ago by Marcel Fassler.


Toyota team-mate, Mike Conway was just under a second away from Alonso, but would soon fall down the order with Jose Maria Lopez at the wheel. Lopez would recover to place second – a half second behind Alonso and ahead of the number 17 SMP entry of Egor Orudzhev.


Jackie Chan DC Racing took a 1-2 in LMP2 in the hands of Gabriel Aubrey and David Heinmeier Hanson, ahead of the number 36 Signatech Apline entry of Nicolas Lapierre in third.


Alex Lynn led the way in GTE Pro in the number 97 Aston Martin, with the sister car of Marco Sorensen split by the number 67 Chip Ganassi Ford of Andy Priaulx. However it would be the number 92 Porsche of Kevin Estre that ultimately took pole ahead of the Fords in second and third.


Ben Barker was first to fire a salvo in GTE Am in the Gulf Porsche and setting a class record in the process, until the session was red-flagged with ten minutes remaining when the number 61 Clearwater Racing Ferrari of Luis Perez Companc slammed head on into the concrete barriers.



When the track was re-opened, the number 77 Dempsey-Proton entry of Matt Campbell jumped to the top of the Am timesheets ahead of the Team Project 1 Porsche of Egidio Perfetti and number 98 Aston Martin of Paul Dalla Lana.


Images: Adrenal Media