Sebastian Buemi lead the way for Toyota Gazoo Racing in Free Practice One for the despite a strong showing from throughout the session.



Buemi led a 1-2 for the Japanese manufacturer with a time of 1:56.24 – just over a second and a half ahead of Jose Maria Lopez in the number 7 Toyota TS050 Hybrid.


Jenson Button topped the timesheets for the majority of the 90-minute session until Buemi usurped the SMP Racing driver with just ten minutes remaining and eventually dropped down to eighth.


SMP Racing team-mate Matevos Isaakyan took over third in the sister BR Engineering BR1 AER entry, who (along with both Toyota’s) improved as the track began to dry ahead of Tom Dillmann in the number 4 ByKolles Racing ENSO CLM P1/01 NISMO.


Jazeman Jaafar was the best of the LMP2 grid with a time of 2:07.581 in the number 37 Jackie Chan DC Racing Oreca 07 Gibson, followed by the number 29 Racing Team Nederland Dallara P217 of Guido Van Der Garde and the number 29 TDS Racing entry of François Perrodo.


BMW continued their strong showing from Fuji in GTE-Pro with Martin Tomczyk topping the class in the number 81 Team MTEK BMW M8 GTE – two and a half seconds ahead of Richard Lietz in the number 91 Porsche 911 RSR who was followed by the Aston Martin Vantage of Alex Lynn.


Charlie Eastwood topped GTE-Am in the number 97 Aston and in doing so was second outright in the combined GTE field and two seconds ahead of Matt Campbell in the number 77 Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche 911 RSR.


Free Practice 2 starts at 3:30 p.m. local time.


Image: Toyota Gazoo Racing