Jaguar team principal James Barclay is confident of securing a full grid of drivers in time for the inaugural race at Formula E’s season-opening event in Riyadh on December 15th.

The championship concluded its final pre-season test at Rockingham earlier this week, and the five drivers that have so far been confirmed for this season far were all in attendance.

Speaking at the recent Formula E test in Valencia, Jaguar boss Barclay said he’s “positive” that a full grid can be secured in time, suggesting talks were now in the final stages for many of the expected entrants.

“We are hoping we will get to a full grid by Riyadh, that’s clearly our focus,” said Barclay.

“We are talking to enough potentials to be at a full grid, we’re just about making sure all those can raise their funding in time and get over the line. It’s looking positive which is really good.

“What has been really exciting is the level of drivers that are coming into the championship, so the entrants that are signing up, the teams and the drivers they’re bringing is incredibly really high. We’re in for a genuinely really exciting championship.

“You just look at the people we’re testing: Cacá Bueno, a five-time stock car champion, Sérgio Jimenez, a former GP2 driver, Katherine [Legge] and Bryan [Sellers] who are one-two in IMSA in GT3 this year, Simon [Evans], who has dominated in New Zealand and now has this opportunity to race on an international stage and the people who are about to join the championship you’ll see a really high level as well.

“I think we’re looking in good shape, and I’m sure the last few will come in the final weeks before Riyadh hopefully and we’ll have a full grid.”

The full list of entrants is expected to be announced by the end of November, with teams expected to be representing countries such as Germany, Brazil, China and Saudi Arabia a similar manner to the now-defunct A1GP series of the mid-2000s.

The I-PACE eTrophy will act as the official support event at nine of the 12 events on the 2018/19 Formula E calendar, with a total prize fund of $500,000 to be distributed throughout the season to the winners of each race.

Image credit: