-Benz and have been granted permission from the ABB FIA FormulaE powertrain homologation. Both manufacturers will enter the series in Season 6 (2019-20).


Both Mercedes-Benz and Porsche join the already impressive list of automotive brands and renowned names in the world of motorsport committed to the electric street racing series. The two German giants have a long history in racing and their decision to enter is further evidence of the unstoppable movement towards electrification on a global scale.


Manufacturers confirmed for season six are:


– Audi Sport


– DS Automobiles

– Jaguar Land Rover

– Mahindra Racing

– Mercedes-Benz

– NextEV NIO

– Nissan

– Penske Autosport

– Porsche AG

– Venturi Automobiles


The two additions for season six will have a two-year homologation period, until the next cycle begins for the 2021/22 ABB FIA Formula E Championship.


With the competition closer than ever and a number of new venues in Rome and Zurich coming up, the combination of fully-electric racing and city-centre street circuits has proven to be highly attractive to both competitors and fans.


Season five sees the introduction of the next generation Formula E car, which marks a crucial step for the ABB FIA Formula E Championship – eliminating the need for a mid-race car swap.