ABT Shaeffler’s rookie driver Nico Muller who made headlines after setting a new lap record with a time of 1:19.651 – smashing yesterday’s fastest lap of 1:19.760 set during the race at the Circuit International Automobile Moulay El Hassan


“I had lots of fun today. My first time in a Formula E car was a very successful one,” said the 25 year old Swiss driver. “I really enjoyed myself and I got to do a lot of laps…being the quickest is the icing on the cake but what’s more important is that we did the work that was planned. I got my first taste of a very fun series, in a very fun car.”


In the morning session, a miscalculation on Turn 1 for Dragon’s Andrea Caldarelli, brought out the red flag after he found himself in the tyre wall with damage to the nose and front suspension. Running soon got back underway though, and as the test reached its halfway point it was Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s Paul Di Resta quickest. His stablemate Pietro Fittapaldi followed up the team’s strong morning pace and came second in the afternoon’s session with a time of 1:20.597. 


With the rookie test open to any driver who does not, and has never held an eLicence, it resulted in an eclectic mixture of proven talents and young guns. Two of the top drivers from the FIA Formula 3 Championship both enjoyed their first outings in the all-electric single-seater, with Joel Eriksson third quickest in the morning session for DS Virgin Racing and Maximillian Gunther third in the afternoon timesheets for DRAGON.


Despite Muller’s sensational lap, it was a day of mixed fortunes for Audi as technical difficulties continued to plague FIA Formula 2 driver Nyck de Vries’ car for most of the running. He did manage to get out late in the afternoon, and set the tenth fastest time in the #1 car.


Marrakesh – Combines Results 


1. Nico Müller SUI ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 1:19.651
2. Pietro Fittipaldi BRA Panasonic Jaguar Racing + 0.946s
3. Maximilian Günther GER Dragon Racing + 1.006s
4. Paul di Resta GBR Panasonic Jaguar Racing + 1.123s
5. James Rossiter GBR Techeetah + 1.143s
6. Daniel Juncadella ESP Mahindra + 1.223s
7. Antonio Giovinazzi ITA DS Virgin Racing + 1.225s
8. Andrea Caldarelli ITA Dragon Racing + 1.313s
9. Joel Eriksson SWE DS Virgin Racing + 1.320s
10. Nyck de Vries NED ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport + 1.457s
11. Gary Paffett GBR Venturi + 1.700s
12. Sam Dejonghe BEL Mahindra + 2.233s
13. Alexander Albon THA Renault e.dams + 2.376s
14. Frederic Makowiecki FRA Techeetah + 2.568s
15. Alexandre Imperatori SUI NIO Formula E + 2.849s
16. Colton Herta USA Andretti + 3.022s
17. Bruno Spengler CAN Andretti + 3.336s
18. Mitsunori Takaboshi JPN Renault e.dams + 3.401s
19. Harry Tincknell GBR NIO Formula E + 3.425s
20. Michael Benyahia MAR Venturi + 4.324s