Despite  jumping out of the blocks early in the season the season with two wins in the UK and Belgium, the 2017 LMP1 FIA World Endurance Manufacturer’s Championship has swung in favour of


With the German manufacturer unbeaten in the past four races the Weissach outfit hold a 73.5 point advantage over their Japanese rivals, Porsche need to finish just 14.5 points ahead of Toyota in Japan to clinch the 2017 FIA World Endurance Manufacturers Championship.  However Porsche have only won once in Japan to Toyota’s four victories at Fuji International Speedway since 2012, so anything can happen in the shadow of Mount Fuji.


Constructor’s Points


1 Porsche               242

2 Toyota                 168.5


In the LMP FIA World Endurance Driver’s Championship Brendon Hartley, Earl Bamber and Timo Bernhard took their fourth win of the year in Texas and have extended their lead to 51 points. The Porsche trio are currently on 159 points with Silverstone and Spa-Francorchamps winners, Kazuki Nakajima and Sebastien Buemi, on 108 points.  Anthiny Davidson, who missed the race in the USA, remains on 93 ponts, 15 behind his teammates. 



If Hartley, Bamber and Bernhard finish ahead of Nakajima and Buemi and are at least 52 points in front of their nearest rivals, they will secure the 2017 FIA World Endurance Driver’s Championship, the first for Bamber and the second for Hartley and Bernhard.


Driver’s Points


1 Brendon HARTLEY             Porsche Team                       159

1 Earl BAMBER                     Porsche Team                       159

1 Timo BERNHARD               Porsche Team                       159

2 Kazuki NAKAJIMA              Toyota Gazoo Racing            108

2 Sébastien BUEMI               Toyota Gazoo Racing            108

3 Anthony DAVIDSON           Toyota Gazoo Racing            93

4 André LOTTERER              Porsche Team                       83

4 Neel JANI                           Porsche Team                       83

4 Nick TANDY                       Porsche Team                       83

4 Ho-Pin TUNG                     Jackie Chan DC Racing         64.5

4 Oliver JARVIS                    Jackie Chan DC Racing         64.5

4 Thomas LAURENT             Jackie Chan DC Racing         64.5

5 Kamui KOBAYASHI            Toyota Gazoo Racing            60.5

5 Mike CONWAY                   Toyota Gazoo Racing            60.5 


Source: FIA

Image: Richard Washbrooke Photography