NIO Team driver rounded off the week of official pre-season testing in Valencia by finishing top of the timesheet for two of the three days.


The result was a boon for NIO FORMULA E, who spent last season playing catch-up despite showing impressive flashes of qualifying speed. Following Turvey’s performance on day one, Turvey posted a time of 1m21.822s, followed by Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler’s Daniel Abt with 1m21.946s, while Dragon Racing driver Jerome D’Ambrosio enjoyed some time at the top for the first time this week. Both DS Virgin Racing drivers Alex Lynn and Sam Bird had a strong morning, leading the way together before Turvey took the top spot.


The morning session ended with a total of two red flags for both Venturi Formula E Team driver Edoardo Mortara, who stopped on track, and TECHEETAH’s Jean-Eric Vergne after grazing a barrier. Late in the afternoon, TECHEETAH’s Andre Lotterer raised another red flag after a spin at Turn 5.


The morning session on day one saw Sam Bird top the timesheets with Lynn P4, with the two going on to show strong pace the following day, with Bird finishing third overall on the second day. Day three saw Bird in P6 and Lynn in P8 in the morning session, with longer race simulations conducted in the afternoon as the team clocked-up its mileage.


Summarising the three-day test programme Bird said: “Preparations have gone well. We’ve shown a good turn of speed but this track isn’t representative of the Formula E circuits we’re used to so we’ll have to wait and see how our form here translates come the opening race. The car feels good though as we’ve made some small but significant tweaks to optimise our already strong package.” 




Combined classification – Day 4 – Valencia Pre-Season Test


1    16 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 1:21.822
2    66 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 1:21.946
3    25 Jean-Eric Vergne TECHEETAH 1:22.078 
4    19 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing 1:22.120
5    9 Sebastien Buemi Renault e.Dams 1:22.247
6    7 Jerome D’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 1:22.252 
7    36 Alex Lynn DS Virgin Racing 1:22.267
8    1 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 1:22.328
9    8 Nicolas Prost Renault e.Dams 1:22.383
10  20 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:22.432
11  2 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing 1:22.457
12  68 Luca Filippi NIO Formula E Team 1:22.487
13  3 Nelson Piquet Jr. Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:22.645
14  28 Antonio Felix Da Costa Andretti Formula E 1:22.979
15  6 Neel Jani Dragon Racing 1:23.102
16  23 Daniel Juncadella Mahindra Racing 1:23.564
17  4 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Formula E Team 1:23.619
18  27 Tom Blomqvist Andretti Formula E 1:23.692
19  5 Maro Engel Venturi Formula E Team 1:24.100
20  18 Andre Lotterer TECHEETAH 1:24.172