Jr. will switch from the NIO Team to Panasonic for the fourth FIA Championship season.


The inaugural Formula E champion will replace Adam Carroll and join New Zealander Mitch Evans.


“It’s a great honor to join Panasonic Jaguar Racing. Jaguar has such a strong history in motorsport and it’s an exciting time to become part of the team,” said Piquet.


“Their commitment to electric motorsport is inspiring and I’m looking forward to working with the team.”


“We are hugely excited to have Nelson on board for Season Four”said Panasonic Jaguar Racing Team Director James Barclay.

“Mitch was one of the outstanding rookies of the season with some great qualifying and race performances. With our new driver lineup, we are aiming to be a strong challenger on the grid, regularly competing for points”.


“We have taken a lot of learnings from Season Three and the team have been working extremely hard throughout the off-season, focusing on the design and development of the new Jaguar I-TYPE 2,.”


Piquet’s move comes after a frustrating last two seasons with NIO, formerly NextEV.