took surprising pole position at the Mexican ePrix, however would be sent to the back of the grid for the Julius Baer Mexico City ePrix after his car was found to be running with illegal tyre pressures.


This elevated Turvey to pole while  Lucas Di Grassi will start from 18th. Championship leader Sebastien Buemi will start the race from 10th place.


Abt was second fastest after the group sessions had ended, which produced a shock result with championship leaders Sebastien Buemi and Lucas di Grassi both knocked out; finishing 18th and 10th respectively. 


Oliver Turvey was quickest in the group stages, but the NextEV driver came up a mere one and a half tenths short in the Super Pole shoot out.


“Mega, I’m really really happy, there were one or two mistakes so I’m a bit surprised, but super happy for the team,” Abt said after qualifying. 


Oliver Turvey took a a career best second place, but scoring his best qualifying result by far was Venturi’s, Maro Engel. The German driver driver set a clean lap to set the third best time, but would start back in 12th after taking a 10-place grid penalty for a gearbox swap.


DS Virgin Racing’s Jose Maria Lopez recovered after his free practice 2 crash (where he slid into the wall) to line-up in 4th place, while Jean-Eric Vergne rued a lack of grip and could only manage fifth for Techcheetah team.


A worse fate besat Vergne’s main title rival Lucas di Grassi, who was only 18th fastest. The Braziiian faces a tough fight through the field to keep the championship title within his grasp. New boy Esteban Gutierrez did a solid job to record the 13th fastest time, while Loic Duval will start dead last after hitting the barrier at Turn 1 on his flying lap for Faraday Future Dragon Racing outfit. 


The Mexico City ePrix at 4pm local time later today.




Image: FIA